A Waltz in Three

Hello blogosphere! After a month’s hiatus, I’ve returned to the beloved world of When Life Gives You Lemons. Today’s post is a collection of three poems, all of which were written at different times, hold unique meanings, and reflect a small portion of who I am. I am pleased to share with you: Half in Whole, The Waiting Game, and Sore Feet. Feel free to leave a comment about the poem you enjoyed the most/least and which one(s) spoke to you.

In other news, I will be adapting a new posting schedule for the fall. On the 15th of each month you can expect new poetry, new features of the week, and life reflections here on When Life Gives You Lemons. I look forward to sharing my world with you!

Enjoy 🙂

IMG_1332.JPG

Half in Whole

Today I dreamt
of my other half
out there
somewhere
wondering
where I am.

The half to my whole
lover of my soul –

Do you exist?

I feel you in my hair,
on my lips –
in the whispers of
my heart.

Love sits in a hole
waiting to be filled –
be still, my beating heart.

The Waiting Game

I want to sift time:
feel it melt through my
fingers
like water –

I want to
mold it
shape it
hold it like my child.

Time is a fickle beast:
haunting those who wait,
mocking those can’t.

Turning her wheel
we all watch the spectacle –
our lives
ticking,
ticking,
gone.

Sore Feet

Oh girl
walk a mile
in my shoes.

Feel the
sear of the
sun
as I walk
to the
bus stop,

weigh the
pressure I
feel
when I’m
trying to fit
in,

tell the men
I attract
to kick rocks

once you’ve
walked
a mile
in
my
shoes.

Feel the
sting of
racism
as the guy
I like
tells me
I’m
pretty
for a black girl,

feel the pulse
in my veins
when I run
to relieve
my stress,

tell the people
who jeer at
me
gossip about
me
misunderstand
me
leer at
me
ask too much of
me
belittle
me

to drop me a line
once
they’ve
walked
a mile
in
my
shoes.

Leave a Reply

